Social Media: No Wrapper

Merriam-Webster Dictionary defines social as:

  • relating to or involving activities in which people spend time talking to each other or doing enjoyable things with each other
  • liking to be with and talk to people
  • happy to be with people
  • of or relating to people or society in general

The dictionary defines media as:

  • the place or opportunity for communicating ideas and information
  • a medium of cultivation, conveyance or expression

The two words together are defined as forms of electronic communication through which users create online communities to share information, ideas, personal messages and other content.

Spending time. Liking. Communicating ideas. Expression.

One needs all of these characteristics to be engaged with others.

You see it everywhere. From hashtags at the bottom corners of your screen promoting your favorite television shows, social media logos on billboards and even the number of likes on your Facebook page.

I tested my Facebook followers when I announced I was getting married. First, I used Flipagram – an app that creates short video stories using photos set to music.

A viewer would have to wait until the end of the pictures to see the ring. Only 106 followers actually liked the video and 36 left comments. I thought more people would be interested in the video because it is action. Boy was I wrong. About 350 people liked my relationship status change from “in a relationship” to “got engaged.” Nearly 60 people left comments. After taking this class, I understand most Facebook users frequently “Like” their friends’ content and comment on photos more so than changing their own status. According to Pew Research, researchers found these facts about Facebook users:

  • 44% of Facebook users “like” content posted by their friends at least once a day, with 29% doing so several times per day
  • 31% comment on other people’s photos on a daily basis, with 15% doing so several times per day.
  • 10% change or update their own status on Facebook on a daily basis, with 4% updating their status several times per day. Some 25% of Facebook users say that they never change or update their own Facebook status.

Sometimes, engagement is getting people involved in a call to action.

For instance, #BringBackOurGirls.

#BringBackOurGirls

It is a movement to bring awareness to the kidnapping of nearly 300 teenage girls who were taken from their school in Nigeria.

Like me and probably thousands of others, I learned of the kidnapping on Facebook and then Instagram. I then researched to learn more about the story. CBS News reported that the abduction happened on April 15 but the story did not gain attention online more than a week later.

CBS News Correspondent Michelle Miller stated the slogan #BringBackOurGirls has been tweeted more than 1.3 million times. I have even posted the slogan on my Facebook and Instagram pages.

Now, I know the content I post on my blog has yet and may never scale that far. However, Klout has been tracking and analyzing my data from activities on social networking sites. Those sites are Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and now Google+.

Klout.com

Klout.com

Currently, my Klout score is 55. My 90 day lowest score was 39 percent. My 90 day highest score was 60 percent, which happened in March.

The activity on my blog is not included in the Klout score.  However, the stats are similar. The highest activity on my blog was also in March. I found that there are more people viewing my blog than visitors.

The weeks I received the most views was when I posted the story to the pages of people I referenced or mentioned in my post. The stats show most views were referred from Facebook, search engines followed by Tumblr.

As the semester progressed, I did see improvement in the number of views on my blog although the stats were still on the lower side for my taste. But I can understand the stats because of my lack of consistency.

Going forward with my blog, I hope I can become more consistent. No one wants to look at an outdated blog. I plan to continue to add links to my posts to increase traffic and continue to include my posts on the social media pages of those I have mentioned in the post.

Earlier, I mentioned the app, Flipagram. It was a fun, simple app to use. It basically turns your photos into a video. When I used the app, I just included some of my favorite pictures and my favorite song. The app allowed me to start the song where I wanted it to begin. The app was so easy to use. According to CNN Money, the photo app was the most downloaded free app on iTunes at the beginning of this year.

This app and others are great tools to use for events surrounding natural hair because the events are so image driven.

This summer, there is a major natural hair event in Memphis, Tenn. Naturals in the City Hair and Wellness Expo will be held at Minglewood Hall on July 19 starting at 10 a.m.

As I begin to learn more about the business side of social media, I can gather that the organizers are already off to a great start in setting up social media aspects of the event. Organizers already have a slogan or hashtag, #nitc3. I think this is the most important social media aspects of the event. Event goers will use the hashtag when they post photos, write tweets, etc. Organizers will be able to see the event through the eyes of the attendants, and it will be easier for them to collect data from the event.

One idea I would include is posting some aspect of the event twice a week. As the event gets closer, for instance when July 1 hits, there should be a countdown of posting something — a natural hair tip, a product that could be purchased at the event, vendors who are selling more than natural hair products, profiles of guest speakers — to promote the event up until the big day. The day before the event, there should be posts every hour reminding people of what will take place. On the day of the event, organizers will reap the reward because their attendants will do all of the work for them.

This is the entire concept surrounding engagement. Once you have done your work beforehand, the people you have reached will do the rest of the work for you.

 

Leave a Reply

